Japan eSIM Providers Comparison Guide 2026
📑 Table of Contents
Japan eSIM providers are not interchangeable, and the single most important fact in this comparison is that the network matters more than the brand. Two providers can sell nearly identical plans while one delivers 5G in rural Hokkaido and the other loses service the moment you leave Tokyo, because Ubigi rides NTT Docomo and KDDI while Airalo and Holafly lean on carriers that dominate the cities. We evaluated every provider against six criteria — network partner, urban versus rural coverage, real price per gigabyte, whether a phone number is included, latency from routing, and support and refunds — and compiled the results from official plan pages, independent speed tests and aggregated user sentiment.
1. How We Evaluated These Japan eSIM Providers
Key takeaways: The network matters more than the brand, so choose a provider based on where you’ll travel. Ubigi is the best overall choice, riding both NTT Docomo and KDDI for the strongest rural coverage, while Airalo is the cheapest city-only option and Holafly offers unlimited data from $27.50 for 7 days. If you’re heading to Hokkaido, the Japanese Alps, or other rural areas, pick a Docomo-based provider like Ubigi — and if you use a Pixel 9 or 10, check Ubigi’s official compatibility list first (some blogs report setup issues).
There are dozens of Japan eSIM providers, but they are not interchangeable. The single most important fact to understand is that the network matters more than the brand. Two providers can sell near-identical plans, yet one delivers 5G in rural Hokkaido while the other drops to no service the moment you leave Tokyo.
To make this comparison useful rather than a wall of prices, we evaluated every provider against six criteria:
| Criterion | Why It Matters |
|---|---|
| Network partner | Determines real-world coverage — Docomo, SoftBank, and KDDI (au) are not equal outside cities |
| Coverage (urban vs rural) | Tokyo coverage is table stakes; rural coverage is where providers separate |
| Price per GB / per day | Entry price hides the real cost; we normalize to what you actually pay |
| Phone number | Data-only eSIMs can’t make calls or receive SMS verification |
| Latency / routing | Roaming-type eSIMs add 150–200ms; local-type connect directly |
| Support & refunds | What happens when activation fails at Narita at midnight |
The data below is compiled from official provider websites, independent speed tests, and aggregated Reddit/Trustpilot sentiment. For nationwide coverage trends, Japan’s Ministry of Internal Affairs and Communications publishes carrier-level data. Prices are in USD as of September 2026.
How this guide differs from our other comparisons: this page is the decision layer — networks, routing types, and normalized per-GB costs. For hands-on field-test speeds, see the TOP 10 Picks Tested & Compared; for setup, compatibility, and data sizing, see the Japan eSIM explainer.
2. The Japan eSIM Networks That Matter: Docomo vs SoftBank vs KDDI
There is a fourth operator, Rakuten Mobile, which is building its own network and roams onto KDDI where it has no coverage of its own. It is not yet a common partner for travel eSIMs, so treat NTT Docomo, KDDI (au) and SoftBank as the practical shortlist when you choose a plan.
What each network is actually good at
Japan has three major mobile networks, and every eSIM provider resells access to one or more of them. Before comparing brands, understand what they mean for your trip.
| Network | Market Position | 5G Availability | Rural Coverage | Typical Speed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| NTT Docomo | Largest network | Highest | Best — the only reliable option in rural areas, Hokkaido, and the Alps | Strong, consistent |
| SoftBank | Strong in cities | High | Weak outside cities | Fastest median in independent measurements |
| KDDI (au) | Solid mid-tier | Moderate | Moderate | Good in cities |
The practical takeaway: if your itinerary is Tokyo → Kyoto → Osaka, any network works. If you’re headed to Hokkaido ski resorts, the Japanese Alps, Okinawa’s outer islands, or rural Kyushu, you need a provider that rides NTT Docomo.
A provider that runs on both Docomo and KDDI (auto-switching) is the safest choice — you get rural reach plus urban speed without manual network selection.
3. Japan eSIM Providers at a Glance
| Provider | Best For | Entry Price | Network | Phone Number | Routing |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Ubigi | Best overall, rural coverage | $3.50 / 1GB / 3d | Docomo + KDDI | No | Roaming |
| Airalo | Budget city trips | $4.00 / 1GB / 3d | SoftBank + KDDI | No | Roaming |
| Holafly | Unlimited data | $11.90 / 3d | KDDI + SoftBank | No | Roaming |
| Sakura Mobile | Japanese phone number | ~$31 / 7d unlimited | Docomo | Yes | Local |
| Mobal | Voice + data | ~$16+ / 3GB | KDDI (au) | Yes | Local |
| CDJapan Rental | Low latency, Japanese IP | Varies | Docomo | Optional | Local |
| Saily | Privacy focus | $3.99 / 1GB / 7d | Not disclosed | No | Roaming |
| Nomad | Flexible data amounts | ~$4 / 1GB | KDDI + SoftBank | No | Roaming |
| Japan Wireless | Japanese support | ~$35 / unlimited / 7d | KDDI (au) | No | Local |
Prices are entry-level list prices as of September 2026 and may change. Always verify on the provider’s website before purchase.
4. Detailed Japan eSIM Provider Breakdown
Ubigi — Best Overall and Best Rural Coverage
Ubigi is the standout for travelers who want one eSIM that “just works” across the whole country. It runs on both NTT Docomo and KDDI, which is why it consistently wins rural-coverage comparisons — including 2026 field tests where reviewers streamed and gamed on 5G without a hitch.
- Network: NTT Docomo + KDDI (auto-switching)
- Pricing: $3.50 / 1GB / 3d · $32 / 25GB / 30d (best seller) · $39 / unlimited / 15d
- Pros: Best rural coverage; unlimited tethering; easy in-app top-up; sponsors a connection if you run out of data with no WiFi
- Cons: Data-only (no number); some blogs report Pixel 9/10 setup issues (Ubigi’s official list includes them)
- Best for: Any trip that goes beyond Tokyo, Kyoto, and Osaka
Airalo — Best Budget Option for City Trips
Airalo is the default choice for first-time eSIM users, and its price anchor ($4 Moshi Moshi plan) sets the bar the rest of the market is measured against. Its Japan eSIM rides SoftBank and KDDI — fast in cities, but with no Docomo fallback.
- Network: SoftBank + KDDI (no Docomo)
- Pricing: $4 / 1GB / 3d · $7.50 / 3GB / 3d · $11 / 5GB / 30d · $17 / 10GB / 7d
- Pros: Cheapest entry point; polished app; 85 Mbps in 2026 Tokyo tests
- Cons: No Docomo fallback; roaming latency through HK/Singapore servers; refunds limited to technical issues
- Best for: Budget travelers staying in major cities on short trips
Holafly — Best for Truly Unlimited Data
Holafly is the only major provider offering genuinely unthrottled unlimited data for most travelers, backed by strong Trustpilot ratings and 24/7 human support.
- Network: KDDI + SoftBank (5G)
- Pricing: $11.90 / 3d · $27.50 / 7d · $50.50 / 15d · $73.90 / 30d
- Pros: True unlimited data (no counting); 24/7 chat/WhatsApp support; 6-month refund on unused eSIMs
- Cons: Fine print worth checking — tethering limited to ~1GB/day and speed thresholds not publicly documented; no top-up (must buy a new eSIM)
- Best for: Streamers and heavy users who’d rather not count megabytes, with no hotspot sharing needed
Sakura Mobile — Best for a Japanese Phone Number
Sakura Mobile is a Japan-focused provider on NTT Docomo. Its plans include a real Japanese phone number, which matters if you need to book restaurants, receive SMS verification, or make local calls.
- Network: NTT Docomo
- Pricing: ~$31–37 / unlimited / 7d (with number); 30-day plans available
- Pros: Japanese number included; Docomo coverage; excellent English support
- Cons: More expensive than data-only; some plans require a Japanese address
- Best for: Long-term travelers, students, and expats who need calls and SMS
Mobal — Best Voice + Data Combo
Mobal offers eSIMs with a Japanese phone number on KDDI’s (au) network, with a support desk frequently praised for responsiveness — a rarity in the eSIM space.
- Network: KDDI (au)
- Pricing: From ~$16 / 3GB / 8d; unlimited from ~$26 / 7d
- Pros: Japanese number; English phone support; short-term plans
- Cons: Lower Reddit rating than Sakura Mobile; some activation reports
- Best for: Short-term residents and workers who need voice
CDJapan Rental — Best for Low Latency and a Japanese IP
CDJapan Rental is the representative “local-type” provider. It connects directly to Docomo’s network, so latency is 20–50ms (same as a Japanese resident) instead of 150–200ms, and you get a Japanese IP that lets you access Japan-only apps without geo-blocks.
- Network: NTT Docomo (direct)
- Pricing: Varies by plan
- Pros: Lowest latency; Japanese IP; transparent privacy policy
- Cons: Less recognizable internationally; fewer plan tiers
- Best for: Business travelers, gamers, and anyone who needs a Japanese IP
Saily — Best for Privacy-Focused Travelers
Built by NordVPN, Saily requires no email registration and shares no data with third parties. Its underlying Japanese network is not officially disclosed, though measured speeds are consistent with tier-one coverage.
- Network: Not officially disclosed
- Pricing: $3.99 / 1GB / 7d · $7.99 / 3GB / 30d · $17.99 / 10GB / 30d
- Pros: No registration; NordVPN ecosystem; competitive entry price
- Cons: Data-only; unlimited plans pricier than peers
- Best for: Privacy-conscious travelers
Nomad — Best for Flexible Data Amounts
Nomad covers the middle ground with a wide range of data-and-duration combinations on the KDDI and SoftBank networks.
- Network: KDDI + SoftBank
- Pricing: From ~$4 / 1GB; 5GB / 30d $9; 10GB / 30d $14; 50GB / 30d $35
- Pros: Flexible tiers; easy top-up; good value for medium users
- Cons: Data-only; unlimited only as a 7-day plan
- Best for: Travelers who want a specific data amount to match their usage
Japan Wireless — Best for Japanese-Language Support
Japan Wireless is a Japan-based provider riding KDDI’s network with a local support desk, useful if you prefer support in Japanese or want a local contact while traveling.
- Network: KDDI (au)
- Pricing: ~$35 / unlimited / 7d
- Pros: KDDI coverage; Japan-based support
- Cons: Data-only; less known internationally
- Best for: Travelers who want local support
5. Measured Japan Speeds: What 2026 Field Tests Actually Show
Network theory only takes you so far. Independent testing published during 2026 gives a rough picture of what the major brands deliver once a real phone is connected to a Japanese network.
| Provider | Reported download | What the testing found |
|---|---|---|
| Airalo (Moshi Moshi) | up to ~140 Mbps | The fastest travel eSIM measured in one round of Tokyo and Osaka testing |
| Mobal (5G unlimited) | ~125 Mbps average | Averaged across the year since its 5G plans launched in January 2026 |
| Ubigi | ~70–75 Mbps | Measured on KDDI and Docomo; praised for holding up outside the cities |
| Saily | ~70 Mbps | Measured on a Docomo backbone in the same round |
| Holafly | ~55 Mbps before throttling, ~4–5 Mbps after | Post-cap speeds held in the low single digits across ten countries tested |
Three caveats before you weight these numbers. Test rounds are small and tied to particular locations, so a single fast or slow reading is not a ranking. The measured figures sit far above Japan’s national mobile median, because tests are usually run in city centres with strong signal. And the post-throttle numbers are the ones that matter if you buy unlimited data: 4–5 Mbps covers messaging, maps and music comfortably and does not cover a video call. For a national baseline rather than one test, Ookla’s Speedtest Global Index for Japan publishes median mobile download speeds and latency for the country, updated monthly.
One pattern survives all the noise: the brand matters less than the network and the day. Two providers reselling the same carrier will produce the same speeds in the same place, which is why the routing and network questions on this page are worth more of your attention than the speed league table.
6. Roaming-Type vs Local-Type eSIMs
This is the single most under-discussed difference in the Japan eSIM market, and it explains most “why is my eSIM slow?” complaints.
| Roaming-Type (Airalo, Holafly, Ubigi, Saily) | Local-Type (CDJapan Rental, Sakura, Mobal) | |
|---|---|---|
| Data routing | Through overseas servers (HK/Singapore) | Direct to Japan’s network |
| Latency | 150–200ms | 20–50ms |
| Japanese IP | Usually not | Yes |
| Price | Cheaper, more flexible | Slightly higher |
| Japan-only apps | May be geo-blocked | Full access |
When latency actually matters
For most tourists, roaming-type latency is fine — maps, messaging, and social media don’t care about 150ms. It only matters if you need a Japanese IP for apps, gaming, or business video calls. In that case, choose a local-type provider.
7. Transparency Compared: Who Publishes What
The real difference between these providers is not the plans. It is how much each one is willing to tell you before you pay. This table summarises what the major brands actually disclose, which is the quickest way to judge how much uncertainty you are buying.
| Provider | Names its Japanese network | Publishes a fair-use figure | States when validity starts | Refund window |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Airalo | Yes (SoftBank / KDDI) | Yes, on unlimited plans (3 GB/day) | Per package, in the app | Technical faults; change of mind returns as credit |
| Ubigi | Yes (KDDI and Docomo) | Yes, as a total allowance | Yes — begins on arrival in Japan | Per provider policy |
| Holafly | Yes (KDDI / SoftBank) | No | Yes, from first connection | Up to six months, if the QR code is unscanned |
| Nomad | Yes (KDDI / SoftBank) | Yes (2 GB/day) | Not stated on the Japan plan page | Per provider policy |
| Saily | Not disclosed | Yes (5 GB/day) | Per package | Per provider policy |
| Mobal | Yes (Docomo) | Yes, with the post-cap speed stated | Not applicable, monthly plan | No activation or termination fees |
Two rows repay a second look. Ubigi publishes its fair-use figure as a total allowance rather than a daily cap, which says far more about a two-week trip than a daily number does. Mobal publishes the speed you drop to — around 200 kbps — instead of only the allowance, which is the honest version of the “unlimited” claim. Airalo documents its activation policy per package rather than globally, which is accurate but easy to miss, and Saily leaves its underlying Japanese network unnamed.
The practical rule: if a provider publishes neither the network nor the fair-use figure, you are buying on trust. Both Ubigi and Airalo put the details on their own sites — Ubigi on the plan pages, Airalo in its help centre — and reading them takes less time than reading another review.
8. eSIM Refunds, Backups and What Happens When It Fails
The refund rules are not equivalent
Activation failures are rare but memorable, and the policies covering them differ more than the prices do. Holafly’s approach is the most generous on paper: a refund window measured in months that also covers incompatible or locked handsets, provided the QR code has never been scanned. Airalo frames its refunds around technical faults, with change-of-mind requests returning as store credit rather than money. Japan Wireless takes the opposite position on its unlimited eSIM and lists it as non-refundable, but answers the risk differently by shipping a free pocket WiFi unit as a physical fallback if the eSIM will not connect after guided troubleshooting. Mobal’s distinguishing feature is the absence of fees: no activation charge and no termination charge, where several Japanese providers add a setup fee in the thousands of yen.
What to confirm before you pay
Four things, in this order. Whether you can still get a refund after the QR code has been scanned. Whether the policy covers a locked or incompatible handset. Whether there is a top-up route on the same eSIM, so running dry does not mean buying a new plan. And whether support staff a timezone that overlaps yours, because a failed activation at Narita at midnight is a support problem before it is a technical one.
Why a backup beats a discount
The credible protection against a failed eSIM is a second route to the internet, not a five-dollar saving. A second small eSIM, a card bought at an airport counter, or a pocket WiFi rental each cost less than the value of one lost day. Where a provider offers a hardware fallback, that is worth more than the same money spent on a marginally cheaper plan.
9. Japan eSIM Price Comparison: What You Actually Pay
Entry prices are misleading. Here’s the normalized cost for a typical 7-day trip and a 30-day stay.
| Provider | 7-Day Cost (≈5GB) | 30-Day Cost (≈20GB) | Effective $/GB |
|---|---|---|---|
| Airalo | ~$11 (5GB) | $25 (20GB) | ~$1.25 |
| Ubigi | ~$14 (10GB) | $32 (25GB) | ~$1.28 |
| Saily | ~$7.99 (3GB) | $24.99 (20GB) | ~$1.25 |
| Nomad | ~$9 (5GB) | $35 (50GB) | ~$0.70 |
| Holafly | $27.50 (unlimited) | $73.90 (unlimited) | N/A (unlimited) |
| Sakura Mobile | — | ~$31–37 (7d unlimited, with number) | N/A (unlimited) |
Reading the normalised numbers
The bottom line: for fixed data, Ubigi and Saily offer the best effective cost per GB. Holafly only makes financial sense if you’ll genuinely burn through 20GB+ in a week. Paying for a phone number (Sakura/Mobal) adds a premium that’s worth it only if you need calls or SMS.
10. Japan eSIM Coverage: City, Shinkansen and Deep Rural
The single decision that should drive your provider choice is whether you’ll leave the city corridor.
| Destination | Network You Need | Recommended Providers |
|---|---|---|
| Tokyo, Osaka, Nagoya | Any | Airalo (cheapest), Holafly (unlimited) |
| Kyoto (temple areas) | Docomo preferred | Ubigi, Sakura Mobile |
| Hokkaido ski resorts | Docomo only | Ubigi, CDJapan Rental |
| Okinawa outer islands | Docomo | Ubigi, Sakura Mobile |
| Japanese Alps / rural | Docomo only | Ubigi, CDJapan Rental |
| Kyushu / Shikoku rural | Docomo | Ubigi |
The one decision that drives everything
A provider that auto-switches between Docomo and KDDI (Ubigi) gives you the best of both without manual network selection.
11. Regional and Multi-Country eSIM Plans
When one regional plan beats two country plans
If your itinerary crosses a border, a regional Asia plan can replace two or three country plans, and it installs once rather than at each stop. That is usually the cheaper and simpler answer for a Japan, Korea and Taiwan route. The trade-off is real, though: regional plans often run on fewer partner networks in each country than a dedicated country plan, so the rural coverage reasoning you did for Japan has to be redone for the second destination.
What to check on a regional plan
Three details decide whether a regional plan is genuinely equivalent. Whether validity is counted across the whole plan rather than per country, which changes how a two-week trip divides. Whether every country on your route is included, since these plans are assembled from different sets of destinations. And whether the network partner changes at the border, because that is where a plan that worked perfectly in Tokyo can quietly become the weakest link in Seoul. Our East Asia multi-country guide works through the routes where one plan genuinely replaces two or three.
12. How to Choose a Japan eSIM: Decision Framework
Four questions, in order
Answer these four questions in order, and the choice makes itself:
- Where are you going? Rural → Docomo-based provider (Ubigi). Cities only → cheapest (Airalo).
- How much data? Light → fixed-data. Heavy streamer → Holafly unlimited.
- Do you need a phone number? Yes → Sakura Mobile or Mobal.
- Do you need a Japanese IP / low latency? Yes → CDJapan Rental.
| Your Profile | Best Provider |
|---|---|
| Short city trip, light data | Airalo |
| Going rural, want reliability | Ubigi |
| Heavy data, no hotspot needed | Holafly |
| Need calls/SMS (long stay) | Sakura Mobile or Mobal |
| Need Japanese IP / low latency | CDJapan Rental |
| Privacy-conscious | Saily |
13. Japan eSIM Provider FAQ: Networks, Routing and Refunds
Q: Which are the best Japan eSIM providers in 2026? A: Ubigi is the best overall for rural coverage (NTT Docomo + KDDI). Airalo is best for budget city trips. Holafly is best for unlimited data. CDJapan Rental is best for low latency and a Japanese IP.
Q: Which provider uses NTT Docomo in Japan? A: Ubigi (Docomo + KDDI), Saily (Docomo + KDDI), Sakura Mobile (Docomo), CDJapan Rental (Docomo direct), and Japan Wireless (Docomo). If you’re searching for a docomo esim japan, these are your best options.
Q: Does Airalo use NTT Docomo in Japan? A: No. Airalo uses SoftBank and KDDI (au) with no NTT Docomo fallback. This is fine for city travel but weaker in rural areas.
Q: What’s the cheapest Japan eSIM provider? A: Ubigi (1GB / 3 days at $3.50), Saily (1GB / 7 days at $3.99), and Airalo (1GB / 3 days at $4.00) offer the lowest entry prices.
Q: Which provider has the best coverage in rural Japan? A: Ubigi has the best rural coverage because it rides both NTT Docomo and KDDI with real 5G. Sakura Mobile and CDJapan Rental also use NTT Docomo directly.
Q: Is Ubigi compatible with Google Pixel 9? A: Conflicting reports exist. Ubigi’s official compatibility list includes Pixel 9 and Pixel 10 models, though some travel blogs claim issues. Verify on Ubigi’s official site — or test with a claim a free eSIM — before purchasing.
Q: Which provider has the best customer support? A: Mobal is praised for excellent phone support. Holafly offers 24/7 support via chat and WhatsApp. Japan Wireless has a Japan-based support desk.
Q: What’s the difference between roaming-type and local-type eSIMs? A: Roaming-type plans (Airalo, Holafly, Ubigi) send your traffic out through servers abroad, adding 150–200ms of latency. Local-type (CDJapan Rental) connect directly to Japan’s network with 20–50ms latency.
Q: Which provider offers a Japanese phone number? A: Mobal and Sakura Mobile offer plans with Japanese phone numbers. Most other providers are data-only.
Q: Is T-Mobile roaming in Japan a good alternative to a Japan eSIM? A: For short trips (1–2 days), T-Mobile roaming is convenient. For longer trips, a dedicated Japan eSIM is much cheaper ($3.50–$35 for 7 days vs $70 for 7 days of T-Mobile high-speed passes). For T-Mobile users, the free 2G roaming works for messaging but a dedicated eSIM is better for data-heavy apps.
Q: Which provider has the fastest speeds in Tokyo? A: Airalo on SoftBank delivered 85 Mbps in 2026 Tokyo testing, with Saily at 72 Mbps in the same tests. SoftBank has posted the highest median download speeds among Japan’s carriers in independent measurements.
Q: Which Japanese carrier has the best 5G coverage? A: NTT Docomo leads 5G availability in most independent measurements, with SoftBank and KDDI close behind. Ubigi and Sakura Mobile are the best Docomo options.
Q: Which provider is fastest in Japan? A: In 2026 testing, Airalo posted the highest measured download of the travel eSIMs tested, with Mobal’s 5G plans averaging around 125 Mbps and Ubigi and Saily in the 70 Mbps range. Treat the order as directional rather than settled: the brand matters less than the network partner and your location, and the carrier coverage comparison explains why.
Q: Which providers refund an unused Japan eSIM? A: It varies more than the pricing does. Holafly offers a window measured in months if the QR code has never been scanned, including for incompatible or locked phones; Airalo’s change-of-mind refunds come back as credit; and some unlimited eSIMs are listed as non-refundable. Read the policy before paying rather than after a problem.
Q: Does any provider give a backup if the eSIM fails? A: At least one Japan-focused seller ships a free pocket WiFi unit as a physical fallback when its unlimited eSIM will not connect after troubleshooting. Elsewhere, the practical backup is a second small eSIM or a card bought at an airport counter — cheaper than losing a day of connectivity.
Q: Do travel eSIMs need identity verification in Japan? A: No. A data-only eSIM bought from an overseas provider is not a Japanese SIM contract and involves no ID check. Voice plans with a Japanese 070, 080 or 090 number have always required photo ID, and a 2026 amendment extends verification to data-only SIMs bought inside Japan, with the commencement date set by cabinet order.
14. Final Verdict: The Best Japan eSIM Provider
| Your Primary Need | Best Japan eSIM Provider |
|---|---|
| Best overall, best rural coverage | Ubigi (Docomo + KDDI) |
| Cheapest city-only plan | Airalo |
| Unlimited data, no counting | Holafly |
| Low latency / Japanese IP / Business | CDJapan Rental |
| Long-term stay / truly unlimited | Sakura Mobile |
| Multi-country Asia trip | Nomad or Airalo |
| Best customer support | Mobal |
| T-Mobile user, short trip | T-Mobile roaming |
| Docomo network for rural Japan | Ubigi or Sakura Mobile |
Key Takeaways
-
The network matters more than the brand. Ubigi on Docomo is structurally different from Airalo on SoftBank. Choose based on your itinerary, not just price.
-
Roaming-type vs. local-type is the fundamental divide. If you need low latency, a Japanese IP, or Japan-only services, choose a local-type provider like CDJapan Rental.
-
“Unlimited” requires reading the fine print. Every provider has FUP limits. Ubigi throttles to ~2 Mbps after roughly 30–60GB (plan-dependent). Airalo caps at 3GB/day. Holafly’s thresholds aren’t publicly documented.
-
Install before you leave. This is the single most important piece of advice across every review platform.
-
Check phone compatibility. Some blogs report Ubigi—Pixel 9/10 setup issues (Ubigi’s official list includes these models). Chinese-market phones often lack eSIM hardware.
Your 5-Step Action Plan
-
Map your itinerary: Are you staying in cities or heading to rural areas? This determines whether you need a Docomo-based eSIM (rural) or if a SoftBank/KDDI provider (city) is sufficient.
-
Choose your provider type: Roaming-type (cheaper, more flexible) or local-type (lower latency, Japanese IP, best for business).
-
Pick your plan: Estimate your data needs — light (1–2GB/week), moderate (3–5GB/week), or heavy (7–10GB+/week).
-
Check phone compatibility: Ensure your device supports eSIM and isn’t carrier-locked — see our eSIM-ready device list. Pixel 9/10 users should verify with Ubigi’s official list first.
-
Purchase and install before departure: Install the eSIM at home on WiFi — not at the airport.
Further Reading:
- Japan eSIM guide — Complete overview of how eSIM technology works and why it beats physical SIM cards.
- Japan eSIM Reviews 2026: Reddit, Trustpilot & More — What real users actually say about each provider.
- Which Japan connectivity option wins for your trip? — Complete comparison of Japan internet options.
Last updated: September 2026. All prices are in USD ($) unless otherwise noted and sourced from official provider websites and independent reviews. Plans and promotions are subject to change. Always verify current pricing on the provider’s official website before purchasing.
For independent data on how connectivity options perform in Japan, Ookla’s Speedtest Global Index for Japan tracks median mobile download speeds and latency across the country. GSMA publishes the eSIM technical specification.